Volunteer Experience form Kolkata Mission – 2015

DSC_6883

I’m a student volunteer, completed first year of BBA, LLB (Hons.) course from NLLO. When I got to know about Mission Smile through a friend and decided to volunteer in their medical mission in Kolkata. As a matter of fact, I love kids and playing with them is my favorite hobby, so I volunteered to help in the child-life area. Working with the children, motivating the elder ones and making the younger one familiar with the hospital environment, making them acquainted with equipments like oxygen mask, so that they do not feel paranoid seeing them for the first time in OT. All this was the part of my job. Interviewing parents about their feelings when they saw their children with such deformity was the part where I face most difficulty. All the parents I inquired were extremely enthusiastic about their children getting better and capable of leading a normal life.

In all it has been a very good experience may be the experience of a life time. I would like to volunteer whenever and wherever I get a chance to help smoothen the process of bringing ‘Smiles’ to the children and adults.

Thank you Mission Smile for giving me an opportunity to be a part of this.

Shraddha Singh

Leave a Reply

